Typed Appreciation

Inspiration by Mail, Miss Thank You's Mailbox

I’ve had a great appreciation for typewriters since I was a little girl. My grandma used to use one as her main correspondence method. When visiting her house you could hear the slight purr of the electromechanical typewriter and then the tap tap tap of the keys as she started to write.

Then when I was about 14 a wonderful family friend found an old typewriter for me to use. I enjoyed the feel of the silky keys under my fingers and the decisive tap of the letterpress striking the paper through the ribbon. I had to give it up after a couple of years because of long distance moves (it was really heavy!), along with the ribbon ran out. I searched high and low but couldn’t find the correct replacement. I guess the age old tail of “Out with the old, and in with the new” was the demise of my trusty typewriter.

I recently received a Thank You card that took me back to the days listening to my grandma type and the smell of the inky ribbons.

IMG_6660

Erin, soon-to-be-Mrs., has great taste which extends to her paper goods! This lil’ beaut now graces the refrigerator door giving me pings of pleasure every time I glance at it.

I couldn’t find the link to the notecard above but I found this one and this one. I think I just found additions to my Christmas wish list!

Leave a Reply

